30 followers!

You probably know what this is about from reading the title of the post, but I’ll spell it out to you anyway: I have reached 30 followers! I never thought so many people would read my blog and my little ramblings, so thank you to all my followers and readers. You really do encourage me to continue staying positive about these issues and help me get the negative thoughts out of my head. And also a special thanks to all of those who comment and like my posts, you know I love it when you do that.

(I hope there are many more followers to come!)

Also a short notice to announce that I will no longer be using the asterisk after trans*. Many people have complained about the asterisk, saying that it’s disrespectful. I actually started using it precisely because I had heard the opposite; that it was supposed to be inclusive of any kind of transsexual, non-binary, transvestite or transgender person, as well as many others. Most people around the spaces and networks I visit, who are usually very open-minded, also write it this way. But since there is so much controversy and some are getting offended by the asterisk, I think it is best if I stop using it as to not hurt anyone.

Image

Here, I posted a cake for celebrating. I’m not really a cake person myself, so I’ll just take the M&Ms.

14 thoughts on “30 followers!

      • hmmmm, interesting. I’m trying to wrap my head around this logic…not quite making sense yet. Thank you for the reference to discussion. I’ll look into it some more!

        As far as I can logically deduce, adding the asterisk increases inclusivity because it broadens the umbrella to identities that don’t have the prefix “trans” in them, such as genderqueer, cross-dressers, etc. We’re all trans enough, and the asterisk includes these categories!

        • I myself don’t really see it as offensive, but I can see how somebody can. Actually, the asterisk was first added so that, when using search engines, all options that included the term “trans” would appear, such as “transportation”, “transsexual” or “transformation”. So you could say that the thought when adding the * was that of being inclusive.

  1. Congratulations!

    I, too, use the asterisk after trans for precisely that reason — I understood it was meant to be more inclusive. I had no idea it could be interpreted hurtfully. Time to re-evaluate.

  2. Congrats! I am so confused about the Trans* thing I guess I’ll stop using it until I get my head around it. I thought it was more inclusive but i guess I can see the argument. But as someone who is Gender Fluid I myself don’t identify as trans but I would as trans* back to the labels debate again!

  3. Pingback: To Use or Not To Use | Something Queer to Read

Leave a Reply

