Modernization

Ladies, gentlemen and (moving) between thereof: I have stepped into the modern world. How, you ask? Well, up until now I had stuck to understanding computers, televisions, radios, electric stoves and mostly anything technology related that I could get my hands on, all items which I manage well enough and am mostly quite fond of (especially computers), but you might have realised something missing from the list that is really very used and important. Mobiles. Or I think some of you might call them cell phones. From today on I have a portable telephone in my power and will soon proceed to become obsessed with it, pretty much like every other teenager who has one. And it’s not one of those flip-phones or a flat screen with buttons as numbers, but a tactile one. It looks all smart with the black flat surface (not an iphone though, just a Samsung mini). That also means it has anything you could possibly imagine. It even tells you what time it is in Japan.

I broke it the first day, so then I had to go and give it back. I somehow convinced the people at the shop that the insurance had to cover the cost, since it was technically not my fault, so they assured me I’d have it back in fifteen days time. Fifteen days passed very slowly, but it finally returned safely home into my hands.

The reason I haven’t been around lately is because I haven’t touched my computer during the four days since I got my phone (record!). I’ve been downloading a whole lot of apps and programmes to enjoy myself with my phone. My sister says the memory card will be full very soon if I keep on going, but I’ll deal with that when the time comes. I actually just finished downloading a thing called What’sApp (lovely word joke there), which allows me to talk with all my friends without having to log on to facebook. I’ve also arrived to level 7 on a game called Temple Run, which is me virtually jumping rocks and ducking under logs as I run away from a monster that wants to kill me. Apparently the monster is the guardian of a treasure I just stole.

I think I’m more or less over the “new relationship fever” and will be back to the blogosphere any time soon. Just please let me get to level 10 first, okay?

Mine is very similar to the white one!

Mine is very similar to the white one!

10 thoughts on “Modernization

  1. Good luck with your game! 😛
    I recently got myself a new phone and found out that I can be so easily amused by all of the new apps I can download with the extra memory I have on this phone but I’m loving having so much at my fingertips.
    Have fun! 🙂

    • The first couple of days my fingers hurt so much from all the typing. That’s actually why I downloaded the game in the first place; so that I’d get use to it. As you said in your blog post about your phone, it’s much easier and faster to write with the new layout of the letters. I used to spend ages to type just one sentence with other phones!

  2. I’m still using a slider phone, it has a qwerty keyboard, has touch screen , can surf the interwebs but is not blazing fast like the smart phones, I’m still relatively old school,my phone can text and make or receive calls that’s about all I need.

    Welcome to the 21st century lol

  3. I still use the cell phone I got 7 years ago when I was in my final year of high school… and have yet to branch out into “smart phone” territory with all that fancy internet stuff lol… but it will happen for me soon, I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before I too experience everything you’re experiencing now. 😉 Have fun!

    (and in reply to 3kids2cats1divorce, I too have only recently started really texting. I only got unlimited texting like 2 years ago at age 22 which is way later than most people start to text frequently. I still don’t text the amount that some people do, though.)

    • As I said to butchcountry67, something is better than nothing! I seem to prefer to call people anyway, other than texting. I’m sure you’ll have plenty fun when you get a newer phone too 🙂

  4. On my third iPhone and it is like having a computer in your back pocket. I’m not a big app person, but I like having my email and google at my fingertips, and having my phone and my music on the same device.

    • After all the apps I’ve tried, I still think having music on my phone is what I like the most about it. I find the screen a little small though, so I prefer to use the internet on my computer.

Leave a Reply

